Contact
Awnings Connaught Hotel

Awnings at The Connaught Hotel, Mayfair

25 Aug 2017

The Connaught hotel has been an important client of Morco for many years and we are pleased to have been involved in numerous redesigns and refurbishments to the front of this elegant hotel. This latest make-over has incorporated the installation of  a series of our Greenwich awnings in a subtle pale green fabric . The Greenwich awning is a product  which combines a traditional design aspect, suited to the Connaught ambience, yet it comprises a modern technical awning system providing robust  construction combined with a low maintenance life span.

Part of the refurbishment has also been the installation of  a Belfort roof awning to the glass atrium of the restaurant area which reduces both  glare and solar gain for the daytime comfort of diners and provides a soft atmosphere at night.

The history of the Connaught hotel is fascinating with it being first opened in 1815, the same year that Wellington was victorious at the Battle of Waterloo. Originally called The  Prince of Saxe Coburg Hotel,. The Duke of Westminster decided to redevelop the a Charles Street area, and the street was changed, becoming Carlos Place. In 1892 Scorrier, the owner, applied to rebuild the hotel although work did not start until two years later, when the original houses were demolished. In 1897 the Coburg Hotel was reopened. In 1917 during the First World War, the decision was made to change the name to the less-German "Connaught". The name chosen was taken from the title of Queen Victoria’s 3rd son, Prince Arthur, the first Duke of Connaught.

view all news articles

Morco – The Commercial Awning Experts

Professional awning solutions for leading brands and busineses across the UK, Europe & worldwide. Call our sales team on 020 8858 2083 or enquire online